Definitions

  • 4.5G

    4.5G is a new version of 4G, combining the 800, 1800 and 2600 MHz frequency bands. This enables speeds of up to 375Mbps. 4.5G is not offered by all providers.

  • 5G

    5G describes the fifth generation of mobile communications expansion with a data rate of up to 10,000 Mbit/s and is much faster than LTE. 5G ensures technological progress in terms of data speed, capacity, response time and data security. Energy consumption is also reduced and the direct communication between machines and devices is made possible.

  • Adaptors for antennas

    Antenna adapters are adapters used to connect antennas and measuring instruments / gateways with different antenna connectors (e.g. FAKRA and SMA). In the process, attention must be paid to the adjustment (e.g. 50 Ohm).

  • Antenna gain

    The antenna gain is the ratio of the field strength in the main radiation direction compared to the field strength generated by a reference radiator in dB. If they are provided with the same performance at the same place.

  • BLE

    Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) adds a power-saving variant to the conventional wireless Bluetooth data transmission. The ability to exchange data with low energy consumption is ideal for devices that require permanent connections. This includes, among others, smartwatches.

  • BTS

    A base transceiver station (BTS) is a base station in the GSM network. A BTS supplies several radio cells with radio signals and is also called a site.

  • CDMA450

    Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) is a radio network in the 450MHz frequency range. This radio network offers a large range and good building penetration. CDMA450 focuses on the energy industry to provide a safe and reliable connection. In the course of the energy transition, the reading of smart meters or the connection of intelligent metering systems and many other areas of application are being targeted.

  • Data transmission rate

    The data transmission rate is the amount of data that is transmitted over a certain period of time.

  • DSL

    Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) is a transmission standard for transmitting data at high transmission rates (up to 1,000 Mbit/s). The DSL connection is provided via telephone network, without the need for any conversion measures. This is wired communication.

  • eHZ

    The electronic home meter (eHZ) is a digital electricity consumption meter that displays all relevant consumption data on a digital screen. This allows to identify consumption patterns and the current energy demand.

  • FAKRA

    FAKRA connectors are mainly used in the automotive industry and are used to transmit antenna signals and high-frequency signals. The plug connections are color-coded and mechanically coded to ensure maximum assembly and contact reliability. In the energy industry the FAKRA connection is mainly used for Smart Meter Gateways / iMSys.

  • Fiberglass

    Fiberglass (also: fiber optic cable) is a medium for data transmission through the use of laser light pulses via thin glass or plastic fibers. Compared to DSL, fiberglass can transport a higher bandwidth and more information per time unit. This is wired communication.

  • GPRS

    General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) is a standard for transmitting data in the GSM network (2G). For this purpose, the data is divided into small packets and reassembled at the recipient’s end. In comparison to the new technologies, the GPRS network is available almost everywhere. GPRS can reach data transmission rates of approx. 50 kBit/s and has already been supplemented in most regions with faster standards such as UMTS and LTE. With EDGE data rates up to approx. 250kbit/s are possible.

  • GSM

    GSM is short for Global System for Mobile Communications and is a technical radio standard for mobile radio systems (2G).

  • HAN

    The Home Area Network (HAN) connects devices within a small area to create a network. These devices can exchange information within the network.

  • IoT

    Internet of Things (IoT) is an umbrella term for the networking of all common electronic objects and devices that communicate with each other.

  • Industry 4.0

    Industry 4.0 is intended as an umbrella term for a future project to digitize the industry. This is the fourth industrial revolution. The key points are machine networking, information transparency, assistance systems and decentralized decision-making.

  • IIoT

    Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) is the networking of machines and sensors in the industrial sector. The IIoT can be used to network small environmental sensors as well as the communication between complex industrial robots.

  • Coaxial cable

    Coaxial cables are asymmetrical cables for the transmission of digital signals. These cables are used to transmit high-frequency signals. In consequence, these cables can be used in antenna, transmission and measurement technology.

  • LTE

    LTE is short for “Long Term Evolution” and is an extension of the third generation of mobile communications. Compared to UMTS, LTE enables even higher upload and download rates of up to 150 Mbit/s. A bandwidth of up to 300 Mbit/s is even possible in the city.

  • LMN

    In a Local Metrological Network (LMN), the Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) communicates with one or more meters. Communication is done via radio (e.g. Wireless MBUS) or cable (e.g. RS485, MBUS).

  • LTE Cat. M1

    LTE Cat. M1 is a mobile phone technology developed for applications in IoT and M2M communication. The LTE Cat. M1 technology can be operated in an existing LTE network and contains all the features of LTE, but lowers the data rates.

  • M2M

    Machine-to-machine (M2M) is the automatic exchange of information between end devices, as well as between end devices and server systems in industry.

  • Network operator

    A network operator is the operator of a network. In the energy sector, the network operator is responsible for the connection of energy consumers to the electricity and gas networks. These network operators are also responsible for installing the smart meters. A telecommunications network operator provides access to the telecommunications network.

  • NB-IoT

    NarrowBand Internet of Things (NB-IoT) is a radio standard for networking devices in the Internet of Things. NB-IoT enables low data transmissions with higher building penetration than the traditional mobile network. NB-IoT is focused on sensors that want to send a reduced amount of data over a long period of time. For this, battery operation without a local gateway is frequently used. For this purpose, the functions of LTE, such as connection retention when changing cells or encrypted communication, are switched off in favor of energy consumption and costs.

  • RSSI

    The Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) indicates the received signal strength in decibel milliwatts (dBm). This indicator shows how well the machine receives the signal from a base station or router. An excellent value lies between -60 and -70 dbm. The closer the value is to 0, the better the signal.

  • Signal level

    The signal level is a logarithmic quantity from the ratio of the power root quantity and a reference value. Typically indicated in decibels (dB).

  • Broadcast power

    The broadcast power describes the power of a transmitter. Usually given in watts or dBm. The value can define the input and output power. In the field of mobile radio, the broadcast power is indicated as radiated power relative to a reference antenna. With higher performance, the range, the stability of the connection and the data throughput increase.

  • Signal delay

    The signal delay represents the time a signal requires, from entering the system to leaving it. Signal propagation times are often measured end-to-end, i.e. from a terminal device (e.g. a gateway) to a server system and back.

  • SMA

    SMA is short for Sub-Miniature-A and describes connectors for the transmission of radio signals. The plug is connected to the socket by a threaded connector. SMA cables are used in high frequency and microwave technology.

  • SIM

    The Subscriber Identification Module (SIM) is responsible for the unique identification of the user and access to a mobile network via SIM card.

  • SMGW

    A Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) is the central element of an intelligent metering system. The SMGW is subject to the high security requirements of the Metering Point Operation Act (Germ. MsbG), as it represents the communication unit of the system. The Smart Meter Gateway stores data, processes it and sends it to the market players. Therefore, all communication flows must be encrypted. To start the official smart meter roll-out, three SMGW providers must be certified by the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI). Until now, only one provider has met the criteria, with further certifications having been estimated during the course of 2019.

  • Smart Meter

    A smart meter is an intelligent measuring device. This meter is used to check the energy consumption. Depending on the device / meter, the electricity, water and gas consumption can be measured. A smart meter is a digital consumption meter that can independently exchange consumption data with the operator via a Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW). In addition, this meter can communicate with consumers and contribute to the energy system transition.

  • UMTS

    UMTS is short for Universal Mobile Telecommunications System and is the third generation of mobile communications (3G). This mobile phone standard enables significantly faster transmission rates than GSM.

  • Virtual network operator

    A virtual network operator is an infrastructure provider who does not have its own access network.

  • WAN

    A Wide Area Network (WAN) is an interconnection of several networks and devices over long distances to form a network.

Menu

Begriffserklärungen

  • 4.5G

    4,5G ist eine Weiterentwicklung von 4G in dem die Frequenzbänder aus dem 800er, 1800er und 2600er MHz-Bereich gebündelt werden. So werden Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 375Mbit/s ermöglicht. 4,5G wird nicht durch alle Provider angeboten.

  • 5G

    5G beschreibt die fünfte Generation des Mobilfunkausbaus mit einer Datenrate von bis zu 10.000 Mbit/s und somit viel schneller als LTE. Mit 5G sichert den technologischen Fortschritt in Bezug auf Datengeschwindigkeit, Kapazität, Reaktionszeit und Datensicherheit. Auch werden der Energieverbraucht gesenkt und die direkte Kommunikation von Maschinen und Geräten untereinander ermöglicht.

  • Antennenadapter

    Antennenadapter sind Adapter mit denen Antennen und Messgeräte / Gateways mit verschiedenen Antennenanschlüssen miteinander verbunden werden (z.B. FAKRA und SMA). Dabei ist auf die Abstimmung zu achten (z.B. 50 Ohm).

  • Antennengewinn

    Der Antennengewinn gibt das Verhältnis der Feldstärke in Hauptstrahlrichtung, gegenüber der Feldstärke, die ein Referenzstrahler erzeugt in dB an. Wenn diese mit derselben Leistung am selben Ort gespeist werden.

  • BLE

    Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) ergänzt die herkömmliche drahtlose Bluetooth Datenübertragung um eine stromsparende Variante. Die Möglichkeit mit niedrigem Energieverbrauch Daten auszutauschen, ist ideal für Geräte die dauerhafte Verbindungen benötigen. Darunter fallen u.a. Smartwatches.

  • BTS

    Eine Base Transceiver Station (BTS, deutsch: Basissendeempfängerstation) ist eine Basisstation im GSM-Netz. Eine BTS versorgt mehrere Funkzellen mit Funksignalen und wird auch als Site bezeichnet.

  • CDMA450

    Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) ist ein Funknetzwerk im Frequenzbereich von 450MHz. Dieses Funknetz bietet eine große Reichweite und eine gute Gebäudedurchdringung. CDMA450 fokussiert sich auf die Energiewirtschaft, um eine sichere und zuverlässige Verbindung zu ermöglichen. Dabei wird im Zuge der Energiewende auf das Auslesen von Smart Metern oder die Anbindung von intelligenten Messsystemen und vielen weiteren Einsatzgebieten abgezielt.

  • Datenübertragungsrate

    Die Datenübertragungsrate ist die Datenmenge welche über einen gewissen Zeitraum übertragen wird.

  • DSL

    Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) ist ein Übertragungsstandard zur Übertragung von Daten mit hohen Übertragungsraten (bis 1.000 Mbit/s). Der Anschluss der DSL-Verbindung wird über das Telefonnetz ermöglicht, ohne Umbaumaßnahmen vorzunehmen. Es handelt sich um kabelgebundene Kommunikation.

  • eHZ

    Der elektronische Haushaltszähler (eHZ) ist ein digitaler Stromverbrauchszähler, der alle relevanten Verbrauchsdaten auf einem digitalen Bildschirm darstellt. Dadurch lassen sich Verbrauchsmuster und der aktuelle Energiebedarf ermitteln.

  • FAKRA

    FAKRA-Steckverbinder werden vornehmlich in der Automobilindustrie eingesetzt und werden zum übertragen von Antennensignalen und Hochfrequenzsignalen eingesetzt. Dabei werden die Steckverbindungen farblich und mechanisch kodiert um höchste Montage- und Kontaktsicherheit zu gewährleisten. In der Energiebranche wird der FAKRA-Anschluss vor allem bei Smart Meter Gateways / iMSys eingesetzt.

  • Glasfaser

    Glasfaser (auch: Lichtwellenleiter) ist ein Medium zur Datenübertragung mittels Laserlichtimpulse über dünne Glas- oder Kunststofffasern. Durch die Glasfasern kann, im Vergleich zum DSL, eine erhöhte Bandbreite und mehr Informationen pro Zeiteinheit transportiert werden. Es handelt sich um kabelgebundene Kommunikation.

  • GPRS

    General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) ist ein Standard zum Übertragen von Daten im GSM-Netz (2G). Dafür werden die zu versendenden Daten in kleine Pakete aufgeteilt und beim Empfänger wieder zusammengesetzt. Das GPRS-Netz ist, im Gegensatz zu den neuen Technologien, nahezu flächendeckend verfügbar. GPRS erreicht Datenübertragungsraten von ca. 50 kBit/s und wurde in den meisten Regionen bereits durch die schnelleren Standards wie UMTS und LTE ergänzt. Mit EDGE sind Datenraten bis ca. 250kbit/s möglich.

  • GSM

    GSM steht für Global System for Mobile Communications und ist ein technischer Funkstandard für Mobilfunksysteme (2G).

  • HAN

    Das Home Area Network (HAN) verbindet Geräte innerhalb eines kleinen Bereiches zu einem Netzwerk. Diese Geräte können innerhalb des Netzwerks Informationen austauschen.

  • IoT

    Internet of Things (IoT) ist ein Überbegriff für die Vernetzung sämtlicher elektronischer Alltagsgegenstände und Geräte, welche miteinander kommunizieren.

  • Industrie 4.0

    Industrie 4.0 versteht sich als Überbegriff für ein Zukunftsprojekt zur Digitalisierung der Industrie. Somit die vierte industrielle Revolution. Die Kernpunkte sind die Vernetzung von Maschinen, die Informationstransparenz, Assistensysteme und eine dezentrale Entscheidungsfindung.

  • IIoT

    Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) ist die Vernetzung von Maschinen und Sensoren im industriellen Bereich. Das IIoT kann dabei die Vernetzung kleiner Umgebungssensoren sowie die Kommunikation zwischen komplexen Industrierobotern sein.

  • Koaxialkabel

    Koaxialkabel sind asymmetrische Kabel zur Übertragung von digitalen Signalen. Diese Kabel werden zur Übertragung hochfrequenter Signale verwendet. So können diese Kabel in der Antennen-, Sende-, und Messtechnik verwendet werden.

  • LTE

    LTE steht für „Long Term Evolution“ und ist eine Erweiterung der dritten Generation des Mobilfunks. LTE ermöglicht im Vergleich zu UMTS noch höhere Up- und Downloadraten mit bis zu 150 Mbit/s. In der Stadt ist sogar eine Bandbreite von bis zu 300 Mbit/s möglich.

  • LMN

    In einem Lokal Metrologisches Netz (LMN) kommuniziert das Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) mit einem oder mehreren Zählern. Die Kommunikation findet via Funk (z.B. Wireless MBUS) oder Kabel (z.B. RS485, MBUS) statt.

  • LTE Cat. M1

    LTE Cat. M1 ist eine Mobilfunktechnologie die für Anwendungen im IoT und der M2M-Kommunikation entwickelt wurde. Die LTE Cat. M1 Technologie kann in einem bestehenden LTE-Netz betrieben werden und enthält alle Eigenschaften des LTE’s, senkt jedoch die Datenraten.

  • M2M

    Maschine-to-Maschine (M2M) ist der automatische Informationsaustausch zwischen Endgeräten und zwischen Endgeräten und Serversystemen in der Industrie.

  • Netzbetreiber

    Ein Netzbetreiber ist der Betreiber eines Netzes. In der Energiebranche ist der Netzbetreiber für den Anschluss der Verbrauchsstellen an das Strom- und Gasnetz zuständig. Diese Netzbetreiber sind ebenfalls dafür zuständig die Smart Meter zu installieren. Ein Netzbetreiber der Telekommunikationsbranche stellt den Zugang zum Telekommunikationsnetz zur Verfügung.

  • NB-IoT

    NarrowBand Internet of Things (NB-IoT) ist ein Funkstandard zur Vernetzung von Geräten im Internet der Dinge. NB-IoT ermöglicht geringe Datenübertragungen mit höherer Gebäudedurchdringung als das herkömmliche Mobilfunknetz. NB-IoT ist fokussiert auf Sensoren, die wenige Daten über eine lange Laufzeit senden wollen. Dafür wird oft auf Batteriebetrieb ohne lokales Gateway zurückgegriffen. Dafür werden Funktionen des LTE’s, wie Verbindungserhalt beim Zellwechsel oder verschlüsselte Kommunikation zugunsten des Energieverbrauchs und der Kosten, abgeschaltet.

  • RSSI

    Der Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) gibt die Empfangssignalstärke in Dezibel Milliwatt (dBm) an. Dieser Indikator gibt an wie gut das Gerät das Signal einer Basisstation oder Routers empfängt. Ein sehr guter Wert liegt zwischen -60 und -70 dbm. Je näher der Wert an 0 ist, desto besser das Signal.

  • Signalpegel

    Der Signalpegel ist eine logarithmische Größe aus dem Verhältnis der Leistungswurzelgröße und einem Bezugswert. Üblicherweise in Dezibel (dB) angegeben.

  • Sendeleistung

    Die Sendeleistung beschreibt die Leistung eines Senders. Üblicherweise in Watt oder dBm angegeben. Der Wert kann die Eingangs- und Ausgangsleistung definieren. Im Mobilfunkbereich wird die Sendeleistung als abgestrahlte Leistung relativ zu einer Bezugsantenne angegeben. Mit höherer Leistung steigt die Reichweite, die Stabilität der Verbindung sowie der Datendurchsatz.

  • Signallaufzeit

    Die Signallaufzeit beschreibt die Zeit die ein Signal vom Eintritt in ein System, bis zum Austritt benötigt. Signallaufzeiten werden oft Ende zu Ende gemessen, d.h. vom Endgerät (z.B. einem Gateway) zum einem Serversystem und zurück.

  • SMA

    SMA steht für Sub-Miniature-A und beschreibt Steckverbinder zur Übertragung von Funksignalen. Mittels Gewindeverschluss werden dabei der Stecker mit der Buchse verbunden. SMA-Kabel werden in der Hochfrequenztechnik und der Mikrowellentechnik eingesetzt.

  • SIM

    Das Subscriber Identification Module (SIM) ist für die eindeutige Identifizierung des Benutzers und den Zugang zu einem Mobilfunknetz mittels SIM-Karte zuständig.

  • SMGW

    Ein Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) ist das zentrale Element eines intelligenten Messsystems. Das SMGW unterliegt den hohen Sicherheitsanforderung des Messstellenbetriebsgesetz (MsbG), da es die Kommunikationseinheit des Systems bildet. Das Smart Meter Gateway speichert Daten, bereitet diese auf und versendet diese an die Marktakteure. Daher gilt es alle Kommunikationsflüsse zu verschlüsseln. Damit der gesetzliche Smart Meter Rollout starten kann müssen drei Anbieter von SMGW’s durch das Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) zertifiziert werden. Bislang erfüllt nur ein Anbieter die Kriterien, mit weiteren Zertifizierungen wird im Laufe des Jahres 2019 gerechnet.

  • Smart Meter

    Ein Smart Meter ist ein intelligentes Messgerät. Dieses Messgerät wird zum messen des Energieverbrauchs genutzt. Dabei können, je nach Gerät / Zähler, der Stromverbrauch, Wasser und Gasverbrauch gemessen werden. Ein intelligentes Messgerät ist ein digitaler Verbrauchszähler der über ein Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) Verbrauchsdaten selbstständig mit dem Betreiber austauschen kann. Darüber hinaus kann dieser Zähler mit Verbrauchern kommunizieren und einen Beitrag zur Energiewende leisten.

  • UMTS

    UMTS steht für Universal Mobile Telecommunications System und ist die dritte Generation des Mobilfunks (3G). Dieser Mobilfunkstandard ermöglicht deutlich schnellere Übertragungsraten als GSM.

  • Virtueller Netzbetreiber

    Ein virtueller Netzbetreiber ist ein Anbieter von Infrastruktur ohne eigenes Anschlussnetz.

  • WAN

    Ein Wide Area Network (WAN) ist eine Vernetzung mehrerer Netzwerke und Geräte über größere Entfernungen zu einem Netzwerk.

Menü